Drunk on thoughts.

I stay up most nights. Drunk.

No, I’m not an alcoholic. Neither am I even fond of alcohol. But I’ve heard and seen people behave; behave under the influence of alcohol. They’ve frequently described alcohol as a temptress. Seducing temptress.

That’s how I get drunk. Drunk on the thoughts of her. She’s no temptress or a seductress. She’s my best friend and my potential soul mate.

I’m drunk on the thoughts of her lying next to a man I loathe. I’m drunk on the thoughts of her falling in love with him. I’m drunk on the thoughts of her heart being stolen by him.

I’m not under her influence, neither does she manipulate my choices. She doesn’t make me text my exes, unlike Ms. Vodka. But she gets me drunk. I’m intoxicated by her presence and her cheerful laughter. I’m high on the sound of her voice.

I’m in love with her. And that’s how I stay up most nights. Drunk. Drunk on the thoughts of her.

Leave a Reply

